Anthroposophy is a modern path of knowledge and a spiritual science, which enables the human being to gain a deeper understanding of his/her own true nature, and of the world we live in. The word "Anthroposophy" comes from the Greek language, and means "wisdom of the human being". This wisdom ultimately leads to the connection of the spiritual in the human being to the spiritual, which pervades the universe.

Anthroposophy as a world-view is not confined to the purely conceptual, but expresses itself in all realms of life on earth. The arts, the sciences, education, agriculture, medicine, architecture, all these fields have been permeated and transformed by the impulse of Anthroposophy. It is thus a living power, which appeals to the whole human being, to his/her three-fold nature of thinking, feeling and doing (actions) - the head, the heart and the limbs.

Anthroposophy was founded by Dr. Rudolf Steiner, an Austrian philosopher, scientist, social reformer and initiate. Steiner was born on February 27, 1861 at Krelyevec, in what is today Croatia, and died on March 30, 1925 in Dornach, Switzerland. Although Steiner was born in the West, his philosophy is universal. He had the ability to combine modern, scientific thinking with his own inwardly experienced spiritual vision, similar to that of a Rishi. He was convinced that human perception went beyond the physical and the material to reach the realm of the super sensible, which in turn can be perceived by pure thought. His entire work developed independently, based upon genuine spiritual research, which he made known through his many books and public lectures.

At the beginning of his adult life, Steiner was general secretary of the Theosophical Society in Germany. This brought him close to the ancient spiritual wisdom of the East, particularly that of ancient India. That wisdom which lived in the ancient mysteries of various cultures has become accessible to modern human consciousness through the works of Rudolf Steiner.

Dr. Rudolf Steiner laid the foundation stone of the General Anthroposophical Society on December 25, 1923 in Dornach, Switzerland. This Society is a forum for meetings and exchange of views and ideas for those people whose common interest is Anthroposophy. It is a free Society and open for membership to all people, regardless of their nationality, religion, race, caste, creed or ideological conviction. It does not impose any duties on its members other than those voluntarily assumed.

The world centre of the General Anthroposophical Society is the GOETHEANUM in Dornach, Switzerland. The only condition for membership in this Society is that one sees the Goetheanum as being justified. Most countries of the world have their own national Anthroposophical society. The leaders and representatives meet once a year at the Annual General Meeting at the Goetheanum in Dornach. There is a newsletter "Anthroposophy Worldwide", published from Dornach, which connects the international Anthroposophical community and keeps them informed about all that takes place in the Anthroposophical world. It also reports on world events from an Anthroposophical viewpoint.

The General Anthroposophical Society regards the School of Spiritual Science as the centre of its work, which includes research into the spiritual dimensions of the various fields of life. Members of this School are now true representatives of Anthroposophy in the world and have added responsibilities. The School offers an opportunity to transform ideas into practical work, in keeping with the spirit of our times.
The School of Spiritual Science comprises eleven areas of work, known as Sections, in specialised fields.
They are as follows:

1. The General Anthroposophical Section
2. Mathematics and Astronomy
3. Medicine, which includes Curative Eurythmy, Curative Education and Social Therapy
4. Natural Science
5. Agriculture, specifically Bio Dynamic Agriculture
6. Waldorf Education
7. Youth Section
8. Social Sciences, especially the Three-Fold Social Order
9. Performing Arts, including Eurythmy
10. Visual arts, including Architecture
11. Literature and Humanistics

In the year 1913, Dr. Rudolf Steiner was offered a building site on a small hill at Dornach, near Basle city, in Switzerland. Steiner accepted the offer and established the future centre of the Anthroposophical movement in neutral Switzerland. Steiner then designed the building, which consisted of two intersecting domes, and called it the GOETHEANUM, as a tribute to the eighteenth century German philosopher and writer Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. The building was an architectural marvel, carved in wood, with paintings, sculptures, pillars and coloured glass windows. In the huge auditorium Steiner's Mystery plays and Eurythmy were performed. Members of the Anthroposophical movement held their conferences there.

Late on New Year's eve 1922, the Goetheanum was on fire and within hours this magnificent building was completely destroyed. Steiner however did not allow this tragedy to deter him from his work. He carried on with his activities and started making plans for the second Goetheanum, which was to be constructed in cement concrete, steel and glass. This building stands today in the same place as the first Goetheanum and contains an enormous auditorium with one of the largest stages in Europe, a smaller auditorium, as well as offices and conference rooms. Each year thousands of people from all over the world visit the Goetheanum to participate in courses and conferences, to enjoy the spectacular performances of drama, music and Eurythmy, or to simply marvel at the unique building.

There are now Three Branches of the Anthroposophical Society in India. They are:
"Gateway Branch" in Mumbai, Contact Aban Bana, Email:
"Rudolf Steiner Branch" in Hyderaba, Contact Nirmala Diaz, Email: and
"Mercury Branch" in Secunderabad, Contact Dr. Swapna Narendra, Email:

The Anthroposophical Society in India was founded on October 21, 2011, In Hyderabad. The office bearers are:
Aban Bana - President and Country Representative
Nirmala Diaz - Vice President
Samia Ali Khan - Secretary
Jakes Jayakaran - Joint Secretary
Dr. Swapna Narendra - Treasurer
Angelika Mandaiker - Executive Member
Francis Aradhya - Executive Member
Site powered by On-Lyne.